Scroll to top
© 2020, The Dani Awards

ORSAS in England

ORSAS awards are offered by 141 education institutions (HEIs) in England. HEIs are liable for making awards annually in line with the objectives of the scheme as began by the funding bodies.

ORSAS awards beyond 2009
As Government funding priorities for HEFCE have recently changed, it’ll not be possible to fund new ORS awards in England beyond 2009. This decision is supported by findings from the 2008 review of the scheme which can be published on the HEFCE web-site at the top of September.

Funding for ORSAS are going to be phased out gradually over 2009-10 and 2010-11. Further information on this decision are often found in HEFCE Circular letter 18/2008. this alteration applies to England only.

Current award holders and new starters

HEIs are notified of the funding they’re going to receive until the top of 2010-11. they’re going to got to decide what awards to supply but we anticipate that an honest number of awards are going to be available for college kids starting in 2008-09.

Prospective applicants should contact institutions directly for information on available ORS awards and the way to use . an inventory of participating institutions, including web links, is provided on this site. Information for education institutions is additionally available.

If current award holders have concerns, they ought to speak to their institution.

Overseas Research Students Awards Scheme
ORSAS was found out by the Secretary of State for Education and Science in 1979 to draw in high-quality international students to the uk to undertake research. The Scheme is funded through the four UK education funding bodies (for England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland ).

From 2006 onwards, participating education Institutions (HEIs) have received an annual grant to fund ORSAS and selected their ORSAS award holders internally. The grant is allocated by formula and reviewed periodically with reference to postgraduate research student recruitment and related data. the present formula allocations are set to run from 2006-07 until the top of 2008-09.

Prospective applicants should contact institutions directly for information on the way to apply for an ORSAS award. Follow the links to find out more about ORSAS in England, Northern Ireland, Scotland and Wales.

ORSAS awards beyond 2009

The education Funding Council for England (HEFCE) and therefore the Higher Education Funding Council for Wales (HEFCW) won’t be ready to fund ORSAS after 2009. this alteration applies to England and Wales only; other UK Funding bodies have yet to form a choice about the longer term of the ORSAS awards in Scotland, and Northern Ireland .

Further information about the longer term of the ORSAS awards in England.

Related posts

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *